Patients and the Public: how to get involved

Background

As well as the public taking part in our research as participants (research volunteers), there are many other opportunities for patients, carers and the public to get involved as advisors and contributors to our research and improvement teams. This involvement brings different perspectives that help shape our priorities, the methods we use to reach out to communities, and how best to share findings for greatest impact. There are also opportunities for people to become co-researchers and be supported to conduct some of the research.

Current opportunities for involvement

Find out about joining one of the groups that have been set up to advise our research and improvement programmes:

Yorkshire Quality and Safety Research Group/ Improvement Academy

Factors that drive patient safety, and how to improve.

Group:
Quality & Safety Patient Panel

Contact(s):
Claire Marsh

Email(s):

Claire.marsh@yhia.nhs.uk

Act Early

Improve the health and opportunities for children living in Bradford and Tower Hamlets.

Group:
PRAG

Contact(s):
Shahid Islam

Email(s):

Shahid.islam@bthft.nhs.uk

Born in Bradford’s Better Start

Understand the effects of early-life interventions on children’s health and development.

Group:
Community Research Action Group

Contact(s):
Farwa Batool

Email(s):

Farwa.Batool@bthft.nhs.uk

Age of Wonder

A seven-year project capturing the journey through adolescence and adulthood for all teenagers in Bradford.

Group:
Young Ambassadors

Contact(s):
David Ryan

Email(s):

David.Ryan@bthft.nhs.uk

Born in Bradford

Finding out what keeps families healthy and happy by tracking the lives of over 40,000 Bradfordians.

Group:
Parent Governors Group

Contact(s):
David Ryan

Email(s):

David.Ryan@bthft.nhs.uk

Other programmes with active involvement opportunities are:

Youth Resilience Programme

Contact(s):
Sufyan Dogra / Ross Kerr

Email(s):

Sufyan.Dogra@bthft.nhs.uk / Rosslyn.Kerr@bthft.nhs.uk

JU:MP (Join Us: Move Play)

Contact(s):
Maria Frazer

Email(s):

m.frazer@bradford.ac.uk

Yorkshire & Humber Patient Safety Research Collaboration

Email(s):

jenni.murray@bthft.nhs.uk

Academic Unit for Ageing and Stroke research

We conduct high quality research to inform changes in policy and to services. Our aim is to improve the health and wellbeing of older people, stroke survivors and their carers.

Read more

Email(s):

Gillian.Thornton@bthft.nhs.uk / Mohammed.Rauf@bthft.nhs.uk